Rowdy Sumo Wrestler Matsutaro Episode 3 Recap – “Matsutaro Struggles”

fuck youIn which Matsutaro doesn’t actually struggle – at all…

Rowdy Sumo Wrestler Matsutaro Episode 3 Recap – “Matsutaro Struggles”

WE ARE DONE HERE. And thank bejeebus for that. I’m not going to miss this series, or it’s crap “protagonist.” I don’t even care if he is redeemed somewhere down the line, because to me at least, it’s not going to be worth it.

Shimada asks the Sumos to leave to curb any more trouble. I actually wish they would have stayed and crushed him to a pulp instead, but you can’t always have what you want in life. When Matsu awakens, he runs off to the sumo event, attacking many people along the way and being his usual bully self. He challenges the sumo that punched him to a fight, which devolves into a dodge fight between the two. Matsu won’t give up though, and he won’t let anything go. This got tiresome, unfunny and boring far too fast. I had literally no investment in this fight, beside the fact I just wanted it to end.

Matsu starts winning, to the crowds pleasure, and the cheers ring out when he is declared the victor. Several sumo groups decide it’s their life mission to recruit Matsu, but he isn’t interested in it. Until he finds out that the location is Tokyo, where Minami now lives. He chooses the group that is closest to where she lives, of course.

I’m sorry, but how does Matsu struggle at all during this episode? He wins a fight, gets recruited into sumo wrestling and gets to be closer to his psychotic and rapey obsession crush. How does he lose at all here? Seriously, screw this guy and screw this show. If anything this show is about how people who are absolute douchebags will always win and get what they want in life. I can already see that in real life, so why would I want to watch it in my anime?

Interest Level: DONE

Leave a comment